top of page

Someday I'll Love Chavala Ymker

Someday I'll Love Chavala Ymker

After Frank O'Hara / After Roger Reeves / After Ocean Vuong

When budding tendrils twist over sodden earth to bury blood red shards of my locket heart

When the ragged stump edges pucker into scars

When shadowy ghosts no longer choke me with invisible hands

When whispering ashes of promise don’t burn me down to skeleton hinges

When the crooked limbs of family sprout waxy green leaves

When red veins run through wrought iron hearts stitching together a patch-worked quilt

When the words stringing themselves together

to block the neurotransmitters

to spiral a kaleidoscope around me

to fill me with a silent scream

Dissolve into rose petals blown through my fingers

A gentle wind rustling the feathers of a little bird:

willing my heart to walk the horizon

lost between heaven and earth.

bottom of page